NASA, SpaceX delay return to Earth for Crew-1 astronauts

The astronauts of SpaceX’s first operational astronaut mission for NASA could have to wait a number of extra days to return dwelling from the International Space Station due to dangerous climate at their splashdown web site. 

NASA’s four Crew-1 astronauts have been scheduled to return to Earth Wednesday (April 28) on their SpaceX Crew Dragon capsule, making a splashdown within the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Florida. But excessive winds has compelled NASA and SpaceX to delay the touchdown to Saturday (May 1). Splashdown is focused for 11:36 a.m. EDT (1536 GMT).

“NASA and SpaceX agreed to move Crew-1’s undocking and splashdown from Wednesday, April 28, following a review of forecast weather conditions in the splashdown zones off the coast of Florida, which currently predict wind speeds above the recovery criteria,”  NASA officers said in a statement. “Teams will continue to monitor weather conditions for splashdown ahead of Friday’s planned undocking.”

In photographs: SpaceX’s Crew-1 mission to the International Space Station

SpaceX’s Crew-1 mission for NASA launched on Nov. 15 to mark the primary operational crewed flight on a industrial Crew Dragon spacecraft. It arrived on the station a day later to ferry NASA astronauts Victor Glover, Mike Hopkins, Shannon Walker and Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency astronaut Soichi Noguchi to the orbiting laboratory. 

Last week, SpaceX launched its second crew change flight for NASA, known as Crew-2, to fly 4 extra astronauts to the station. Those astronauts arrived on Saturday (April 24) as a aid group for the Crew-1 spaceflyers. 

SpaceX’s Crew Dragon Resilience is anticipated to splashdown in one in all seven websites off the Atlantic coast of Florida or within the Gulf of Mexico, the precise web site depends on climate, when it returns the Crew-1 astronauts to Earth. 

With the splashdown delay to Saturday, Resilience will now undock from the space station on Friday (April 30) at 5:55 p.m. EDT (2155 GMT). NASA’s reside protection of undocking will start at 3:30 p.m. EDT (1930 GMT) on Friday and proceed by means of splashdown and a post-landing press convention.

Email Tariq Malik at [email protected] or observe him @tariqjmalik. Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Instagram.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart