Russian module launching to space station today. Here’s how to watch live

A brand new Russian module will launch towards the International Space Station (ISS) on Wednesday morning (Nov. 24), and you’ll watch the motion live.

A modified Progress cargo craft topped with the Prichal docking module is scheduled to elevate off atop a Russian Soyuz rocket from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan Wednesday at 8:06 a.m. EST (1306 GMT). You can watch it live right here and on the Space.com homepage courtesy of NASA, or directly via the space agency. NASA’s live protection will start at 7:45 a.m. EST (1245 GMT).

The Progress will ship Prichal to the ISS on Friday (Nov. 24). The new module will dock routinely with Russia’s Nauka multipurpose module Friday at 10:26 a.m. EST (1526 GMT), if all goes in accordance to plan.

Related: International Space Station at 20: A photo tour 

Nauka is a comparatively new addition as nicely, reaching the orbiting lab on July 29. Nauka’s arrival was stuffed with undesirable drama; the module’s thrusters fired in an unplanned trend after docking, inflicting the ISS to rotate about 540 degrees.

An identical incident occurred on Oct. 15, when the thrusters on Russia’s Soyuz MS-18 crew spacecraft continued firing after the conclusion of a deliberate pre-departure take a look at. That occasion spun the station by about 57 levels, in accordance to Russian information stories.

The 4-ton, spherical Prichal, whose title is Russian for “pier,” will present 5 further docking ports to the Russian section of the ISS, in accordance to RussianSpaceInternet.com, which describes the module in great detail

Mike Wall is the writer of “Out There” (Grand Central Publishing, 2018; illustrated by Karl Tate), a ebook concerning the seek for alien life. Follow him on Twitter @michaeldwall. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom or on Facebook

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart