‘Super Flower Blood Moon’ webcasts: How to watch the supermoon eclipse of 2021 online

The full moon on Wednesday (May 26) can be one thing to behold, as the solely total lunar eclipse of 2021 arrives along with the year’s greatest “supermoon.” 

Skywatchers in a lot of the world can have an opportunity to see a barely larger-than-average full moon quickly seem red throughout the so-called “Super Flower Blood Moon.” But for these in elements of the world the place the eclipse is not seen — or the place clouds foil the view — there can be a number of free webcasts displaying reside views of the eclipse online. 

During the Super Flower Blood Moon, the full moon of May (often known as the Flower Moon) will move by way of Earth’s shadow, inflicting it to seem red. This is why whole lunar eclipses are generally referred to as “blood moons.” At round the identical time, the moon will attain perigee, or the closest level to Earth in its present orbit. This will make it seem barely larger than a median full moon, making it a “supermoon,” too. 

Super Flower Blood Moon 2021: When and how to see the total lunar eclipse

Griffith Observatory

Weather allowing, the Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles plans to stream reside views of the Super Flower Blood Moon on Wednesday (May 26) starting at 4:45 a.m. EDT (0845 GMT) — simply two minutes earlier than the penumbral part of the lunar eclipse begins. The broadcast will finish at 9 a.m. EDT (0100 GMT), shortly after the final partial part of the eclipse has ended. 

You can watch the Griffith Observatory’s webcast reside in the window above, courtesy of the observatory, or tune in by way of YouTube. Due to the ongoing pandemic, the observatory mentioned on its website that it’ll not host a public, in-person occasion for this eclipse because it has completed in the previous. 

Lowell Observatory

The Lowell Observatory — the place the dwarf planet Pluto was famously found — will even broadcast reside views of the eclipse from a number of telescopes at its facility in Flagstaff, Arizona. 

Starting at 5:30 a.m. EDT (0930 GMT), “Lowell educators will show you live views of the eclipse through our 14” Planewave telescope and wide-view portable Vixen telescopes,” the observatory said in a statement. “Educators will also discuss the science of eclipses, the best ways to view them, Lowell’s history with the Moon, and much more!”

This occasion ends at 7:25 a.m. EDT (1125 GMT). You can watch it reside in the window above, courtesy of Lowell Observatory, or on YouTube.

The Virtual Telescope Project

The Virtual Telescope Project, an online observatory based by astrophysicist Gianluca Masi of the Bellatrix Astronomical Observatory in Italy, will stream two reside broadcasts of the massive lunar occasion: one for the eclipse and one other for the supermoon. Astrophysicist Gianluca Masi, founder of the Virtual Telescope Project, will present reside commentary. 

First, on Wednesday (May 26), the Virtual Telescope will webcast reside views of the lunar eclipse, starting at 6 a.m. EDT (1000 GMT). The webcast will characteristic pictures from astrophotographers in Australia, New Zealand and the Americas. The moon units in Rome at 5:34 a.m. native time, or 14 minutes earlier than the second of most eclipse, so the finest views will come from these distant cameras.

Then at 3 p.m. EDT (1900 GMT), Masi returns with a second reside stream to present the greatest supermoon of the year rising over the skyline of Rome. You can watch each occasions reside in the window above, courtesy of the Virtual Telescope Project, or instantly by way of Masi’s YouTube channel.

Time and Date

Time and Date, an interactive web site that gives a spread of tools for skywatching and time zone conversions, will even present a reside webcast of the Super Flower Blood Moon, starting at 5:30 a.m. EDT (0930 GMT). The webcast will characteristic reside views from round the world, and you may comply with together with the photographers’ adventures on this live blog

You can watch it reside right here in the window above, courtesy of Time and Date, or instantly by way of YouTube. Also, to discover out what the eclipse will appear to be from any given location, ensure to take a look at Time and Date’s eclipse maps and calculators

Stages of the “Super Flower Blood Moon” lunar eclipse on May 26, 2021
Event Time
Penumbral eclipse begins 4:47 a.m. EDT (0847 GMT)
Partial eclipse begins 5:44 a.m. EDT (0944 GMT)
Full eclipse begins 7:11 a.m. EDT (1111 GMT)
Maximum eclipse 7:18 a.m. EDT (1118 GMT)
Full eclipse ends 7:25 a.m. EDT (1125 GMT)
Partial eclipse ends 8:52 a.m. EDT (1252 GMT)
Penumbral eclipse ends 9:49 a.m. EDT (1349 GMT)

Email Hanneke Weitering at [email protected] or comply with her on Twitter @hannekescience. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart